

9th International Workshop on **Broadband Wireless Access**

December 9th 2013, Atlanta, USA

In conjunction with IEEE GLOBECOM 2013. See http://bwaws.org/GLOBECOM2013

The 9th International Workshop on Broadband Wireless Access, co-located with Globecom 2013, will provide a continuation of the successful BWA workshop series. This year, 31 technical papers will be presented, covering a wide range of topics in the field of broadband wireless access research, and being complemented by the following keynote speakers and panelists:





Hank Kafka VP Radio Access and Devices VP Small Cells and CDMA AT&T



Networks



Prof. Gerhard Fettweis Vodafone Chair TU Dresden, Germany



Dr. Gabor Fodor Master Researcher Ericsson



Dr. Chih-Lin I Chief Scientist Wireless Technologies China Mobile Research Institute

Workshop Agenda

9:00	Keynote speeches Hank Kafka, VP Radio Access and Devices, AT&T Dr. Bill Payne, VP Small Cells and CDMA, Nokia Solutions and Networks 	
10:00	Coffee break & posters	
10:30	Paper Session 1 Novel PHY Techniques	Paper Session 2 Novel MAC Techniques
12:00	Poster Teaser Session 1	Poster Teaser Session 2
12:30	Lunch break & posters	
13:30	Keynote speech Prof. Gerhard Fettweis, Vodafone Chair, TU Dresden, Germany 	
14:00	Paper Session 3 Multi-Antenna and Cooperative Comms.	Paper Session 4 Spectrum, Cognitive Radio and HetNets
15:30	Coffee break & posters	
16:00	Panel presentations and discussion	

The broadband wireless access topics emphasized in this workshop are

- Novel physical layer techniques
- Novel MAC design for broadband wireless access
- Further evolution of multi-antenna and cooperative communications
- Management of dense, heterogeneous networks
- · Novel forms of spectrum access and usage
- Context-aware communications

We would be very happy to welcome you to the workshop. Please find registration information on the Globecom 2013 website under http://www.ieee-globecom.org/registration.html .

Looking forward to hopefully see you soon in Atlanta,

The Workshop General Chairs and TPC Chairs, Patrick Marsch, Andreas Maeder, Arun Ghosh, Giridhar K and Peter Fertl

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

GENERAL CHAIRS:

Dr. Patrick Marsch, Nokia Solutions and Networks, Poland Dr. Andreas Maeder, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany

TPC CHAIRS:

- Dr. Arun Ghosh, AT&T Labs, USA Prof. Giridhar K. IIT Madras. India
- Dr. Peter Fertl, BMW Group Research & Techn., Germany
- STEERING COMMITTEE:
 - Prof. Thomas M. Bohnert, Zurich Univ. of Appl. Sciences, Switzerland Dr. Dirk Staehle, DOCOMO Communications Laboratories Europe, Germany Dr. Gabor Fodor, Ericsson Research, Sweden

SCHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Neda Aboutarab (Australian National University), Abdulkareem Adinoyi (Carleton University), Mari Carmen Aguayo-Torres (University of Malaga), Khalid Al-Begain (University of Glamorgan), Guiseppa Alfano (Politecnico di Torino), Tara Ali Yahira (University Paris Sud), Sergey Andreev (Tampere University of Technology), Guiseppa Avellone (ST Microelectronics), Leonardo Badia (Universita degli Studi di Padua), Francisco Barcelo-Arroyo (Universitat Politecnia de Catalunya), Marco Belleschi (Ericsson), Francisco Cercas (ISCTE-IUL), Swades De (IIT Delhi), Antonio de la Oliva (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Guido Diett (University of Applied Sciences Landshut), Mian Dong (Samsung), Klaus Doppler (Nokia), Michael Einhaus (Panasonic), Mauro Femminella (University of Perugia), Marco Fiore (National Research Council of Italy), Frank Frederiksen (Nokia Siemens Networks), Sudhanshu Gaur (Hitachi America), Michael Grieger (TU Dresden, Germany), Ilikka Harjula (UTT, Filnad), Peyman Hesami (University of Notre Dame), Patrick Hosein (University of the West Indies), Joakin Jalden (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Eduard Jorswieck (Dresden University of Technology), Volker Jungnickel (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute), Juha Karjalainen (Renesas Mobile Europe), Witold Krzymien (University of Alberta / TR Labs), Ying Li (Samsung Telecommunications America), Jia-Chin Lin (National Central University), Giridhar Mandayam (Qualcomm), Gerald Matz (Vienna University of Technology), Christoph Mecklenbräuker (Vienna University) of Technology), Guoweng Miao (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Medwal Moh (San Jose State University), Keivan Navaie (University of Leeds), Al-Chun Pang (National Taiversity), Klaus Pedersen (Nokia Siemens Networks), Simone Redana (Nokia Siemens Networks), Mark Reed (University of Cambpa), Markku Renfors (Tampere University of Technology), Winay (Tinversity of the Aegean), Susanna Spinsante (University of Leedsa), Sibel Tombaz (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Stelan Valent Voigt (Actix), Florian Wamser (University of Wuerzburg), Dirk Wuebben (University of Bremen), Wei Zhang (University of South Wales)

